Long Weekend

3 08 2009

I took a couple of days off last week, primarily to get some quality time in with the kids. Thursday was dreadfully wet, but meant that we had to spend a lot of time finding fun things to do in the house, which wasn’t as much of a challenge as I first feared.

We also went shopping for picnic things, in prepartion for a trip to the Eureka Children’s Museum in Halifax on Friday.

We got up nice and early and headed off to get there for when it opened at 10am, which turned out to be a wise move. The traffic on the way there was nowhere near as bad as I feared, and the weather even seemed to improve in sympathy.

The museum itself is a very hands on affair, with lots of things for the kids to push and pull. getting there early meant we got a good run at amost things before they got too busy.

Whilst we were there I got a rather panicky phone call from Grandma Zilla – her new tv wasn’t working and she was worried about sorting it out.

I tried to get her to switch off at the socket and back on again, but still no improvement. So I asked her to get out the receipt and promised a trip up on the Saturday to sort it out.

It turned out that the power surge protector had tripped out, and a simple click on and off of that sorted everything out! She felt terrible about dragging me all the way up there for that, but as an only child I appreciate that is what I’m there for. If she can’t rely on me, who can she rely on?


Actions

Information

One response

3 08 2009
ZuperZee

That reminded me of my mom. She called Friday to tell me that she changed her package deal with the satellite dish network and she couldn’t view anything at all. Turns out she just had it done and naturally it doesn’t reset automatically. It takes a few hours for the adjustment to take effect. Personally I think she was just upset she couldn’t see her soaps! 🙂

Leave a comment